Compassionate Volunteer Pilots Honored at Endeavor Awards


Crystalle will perform “Adagio for Amelia Earhart” at the Endeavor Awards

Scott Parazynski, M.D., Astronaut (Ret)

Scott Parazynski, M.D., Astronaut (Ret) (NASA Photo)

Sean D. Tucker

‘Rock Star” Air Show Performer Sean D. Tucker to Emcee Endeavor Awards, Sunday, May 4, 2014

Young Patient and His Mom Aboard A Compassion Flight

Young Patient and His Mom Aboard A Compassion Flight

Chuck Aaron

The Red Bull Helicopter, Piloted by Chuck Aaron

“Our inaugural Endeavor Awards event, created in a climate of ongoing and often unfair criticism of general aviation, now stands poised and ready to honor the true heroes of flying,” said Mark Wolper, President & Executive Producer of The Wolper Organization at Warner Bros. and Chair of the Endeavor Awards Host Committee.

The first three Endeavor Award Winners were chosen from nominations from volunteer pilot organizations (VPOs) nationwide. Their awards will be announced and bestowed on awards night, May 4 in the Samuel Oschin Space Shuttle Endeavour Pavilion at the California Science Center.

“These compassionate men and women have distinguished themselves by flying people to medical care, rescuing and relocating animals, transporting wounded warriors, surveying environmental impacts, assisting in the wake of disasters, and taking special needs kids to camps,” Wolper said. “Throughout the evening of awards, we will experience the dramatic and heart-warming stories of people whose lives were saved and protected by these generous pilots.”

Legendary pilots and aviators from several generations will gather to celebrate these ‘gifts of flight’ that happen every day across America, including “The Pilot’s Pilot” Bob Hoover, Clay Lacy, Tom Poberezny, John & Martha King, and Sean Tucker, the “Rock Star” Air Show Performer who will serve as Emcee.

Leading Gala Sponsors on behind-the-scenes tours of the Endeavour and its successful shuttle missions is a team of current and former Astronauts: Randy Bresnik, Daniel Bursch, Drew Feustel, Tammy Jernigan, Charlie Precourt, Scott Parazynski, Kent Rominger, George Zamka, and Jeff Wisoff.

Opening the show with graceful daring will be German performer Crystalle, who will soar through her “Adagio for Amelia Earhart” before the crowd of 400 celebrants.

The Endeavor Award honorees were first nominated in an open call for individuals from 40 volunteer pilot organizations (VPOs) nationwide. From these original nominees, the Endeavor Awards Gala Host Committee selected a list of 13 Finalists. After the quantitative voting process, three inaugural Endeavor Award winners were selected. The winners will be announced and honored with their Endeavor Award at the event.

Scroll to Top